Get Your Craft On, Everybody Get Your Craft On, What!

I’m probably one of the last people you would expect to be a big hip-hop fan, but I’m a super fan of tight beats and good lyrics. In, fact the Big Tymer’s classic – “Get Your Roll On” has inspired me in my crafting adventures (NOTE: I was going to insert the video here so you could experience Mannie Fresh and Baby, but clean versions apparently don’t exist.).

Anywho, I thought I’d share some of my projects I’ve been crafting up while jammin’ out.

Sweetgum-Fruit Wreath

I don’t know why, but I have always thought Martha Stewart was annoying. I mean, she is good at everything she does. She could take a fifty year old newspaper and turn it into the most glourious craft project ever. Despite my personal feelings for Martha I knew I wanted to try her Sweetgum-Fruit Wreath for our winter wreath. Almost every house on Lynnwood has a Sweetgum tree, so “gum balls” are in no shortage. It ended up being super simple and her tutorial was very helpful.

Her tutorial suggested using floral wire to insert the sweetgums, but I used toothpicks on my styrofoam base and they worked perfect. I dabbed a little bit of hot glue inside each sweetgum just for reenforcement.

I also attached my ribbion differerntly. I used hot glue and a thumb tack and it has held up great.

The total cost was less than $15.00 (I got a little crazy with the spray paint). Not only was this project simple and cheap, but it looks beautiful on our front door!

5 Comments

Filed under Design, DIY, Home & Garden

5 responses to “Get Your Craft On, Everybody Get Your Craft On, What!

  1. Brenda

    Beautiful job.

  2. Wow! I am just sooo not that creative when it comes to crafts and such.

  3. Nice, Sara!! :) Perfect on that red door!

  4. Aunt Connie

    Well – I am certainly proud of your efforts – it looks great – you could probably sell them too for a little extra income. I love the white on the red door and of course silver and gold would be great too. I also love the fact that you are sewing – I love to create things myself and you will get a lot of satisfaction from that! Good luck and keep up that creative edge!!!

Leave a Reply

