The Laundry Room – Part 1

Sheeewwwww! After being out of school for five days, today was the longest day of my life! I’m gonna need a snow day to recover 😉

One of the first post we had was on our laundry room. I mentioned that it was part of an addition to our house and painted this annoying periwinkle/lavender shade. It was also lacking serious function. There was a closet in the space, but everything had been just tossed in (OCD nightmare!) and there was no storage other than the top of the washer and dryer.  Also, there is a small full bath (is that an oxymoron?) attached to the laundry room, but it was missing a linen closet. Not that I would really love going into any laundry room, but I REALLY hated going into this one ( or least that’s the excuse I used for always having a mound of dirty clothes around.)!

Before

Before (The Leaning Tower of Towels)

Closet

Something had to be done! I knew I wanted to try something that I hadn’t done before and I wanted to the room to look fresh and updated. After looking through my favorite design magazines, blogs and being inspired by the fun stripes in the mother-in-law’s house, I decided I’d stripe things up a bit. I wasn’t sure what color I wanted to go with in the space. It’s a small space, so I knew I wanted something bright and airy. I also took into consideration that our overall color palette is more towards the cool side…..and if I’m taking a risk with the stripes, why not go all out and with a bright light  green. Ooohhhhhh, how I wish people had been honest with me and told me how AWFUL the samples looked. But my family is loving and they didn’t want to hurt my feelings. Even after painting a few small spots with sample paints I thought it would turn out okay. Of course I went straight back to Lowe’s and let them convince me I needed the “Valspar Signature” paint in “lime mousse” and “lime kiss” at 30 buckroos each. I came home excited to start painting. Of course primer was in order, but that wasn’t a big deal. “Lime mousse” was the lighter color, therefore, it would be the first coat. That’s when things got ugly, real UGLY.

Not what I was going for....

It was obvious I made a good choice when I put that primer roller in the fridge. This was a nightmare! Oh….but wait! There’s a new piece of furniture in the room. Where did that come from? Hmmmmm? Guess you’ll have to check back later to find out! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Alex and Sara, The House

Leave a Reply

