The Power of Jute Rope

Texture, or lack thereof, can make or break a room. I used to have a really hard time finding textures that I thought would work well in rooms. That is until I discovered the power of JUTE ROPE (echoing voice)! Forever ago I was watching an episode of HGTV’s Design on a Dime and the room they were working on had zero texture. Very bland and boring. Kristan Cunningham, the designer, worked on a project where she took jute rope and covered the boring seat of a wooden chair. My mind immediately went to all the rough twine I played with growing up on the farm. Who would want to sit on that? But I had to give it to Kristan, the chair did look amazing and it looked like a super easy project. So on my next trip to the holy land, a.k.a Hobby Lobby, I found myself with a roll of  jute in my buggy. I was surprised at how soft the rope was, nothing like ole’ hay twine.

We had a plain  chair in our office that could use some life and the room was in desperate need of texture. I knew putting jute on the seat was out but, I could weave it in-between the slats on the back of the chair.

It turned out great! Every once and a while I’ll add more rope as it slides down the slats, but overall this was easy-peezy!

Then I realized our curtains would look better tied back so I crafted some jute tie backs.

Tie back. HOLLA!

And while we are at it,  that orange and yellow pencil holder was clashing bad with the rest of the room. Good shape, bad color.  You guessed it, JUTE ROPE to the rescue (superhero voice)!

Before

During

After

And don’t  forget about our “travel art”

Oh, Jute you have so much potential, it’s only a matter of time before you appear again!

3 Comments

Filed under Alex and Sara, Design, DIY, Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Power of Jute Rope

  1. Everything turned out great, but my fave is the jute wrapped vase. Awesome job!

    ~Erin @ Cultivating Home

  2. Aunt Connie

    You should have conferred with Aunt Evelyn on this – she used to be the master of the jute rope – as an art teacher I love the use of texture in the room – as per your paint chips – I had a little girl come to school the other day with a “paint chip” necklace – chips strung on a string – around her neck – and Addy loves to pick up colors and take them home – as do I! Love your blog – keep creating!!

Leave a Reply

